Raising driving age from 18 to 25.

Most countries allow 18-year-olds to drive a car. Some people say this is a good age to start driving. Other people say that the minimum age to drive a car should be at least 25 years.

Youth or experience when driving?

For many years now, the debate has raged on about whether to raise the driving age from 18 to 25. There are a number of studies that show how susceptible 18 years old drivers are to accidents and many believe that boosting the driving age will keep the roads safer. Each side has valid points to make, so let's take a closer look at the pros and cons of this proposal.

Those proponents of age raising argue that such decision has many benefits.

For instance, it will allow additional exercise for young people. Statistics in USA show that obesity in American youth is at an all time high. If kids cannot simply drive everywhere, they will be forced to walk and ride bicycles, which is great for their long term health. There are many experts who believe that raising the driving age can put a serious dent in the epidemic of youth obesity.

On the other hand, I agree with those who are in the camp of opponents of age upraising who argue that such decision has many drawbacks.

Firstly, it can lead to less socially active teens, Teens who live in urban areas are typically able to get around without the use of a car, but those who live in rural regions may struggle to develop an active social life if they are not mobile. This can lead to a decreased self esteem and a failure to recognize social cues later in life.

Secondly, teens can't run errands. While some parents may worry excessively about their teens when they are on the road, but those who look on the bright side tend to look forward to their kids turning 18. After being forced to play chauffeur for years, the tables finally turn and they can ask their kids to run errands for them.

After looking at the drawbacks of raising the driving age to 25, it is clear that such decision will have negative effect on the long term although what could be seemingly thought of the contrast.