[TOEFL] Random roommate or roommate you choose, which one is better?

TOPICYou have been told that dormitory rooms at your university must be

shared by two students. Would you rather have the university assign a

student to share a room with you, or would you rather choose your own

roommate? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

People are different. If I have to stay with another student in dormitory together, it will take abundant of time to adapt myself, and so will my roommate. Some people may become good friends, but some people might not suitable for me. In addition, when people know each other well and stay together on dorm, these people do not worry about their stuff in dorm will missing. Thus, I prefer to choose my roommate by myself.

To begin with, when I was a little, I used to buy lottery ticket. I completely confident in myself that I would win, but it turn out I did not win the lottery. These made me feel sad because I did not get the result which I expected. From this story, I learnt that selecting roommate by university is not an option that I am willing to follow because I might have someone that is not compatible with me. For example, he might smoking in dorm, turn music very loud, and so on. This may lead to serious problems. Consequently, I could not focus on my student well. Choosing someone I know to be my roommate is best options for me. So that, I will select my roommate by myself.

Moreover, when two people know each other well and stay together in dormitory, they are always give trust to each other. For example, for me, choosing someone that I know well is not make me concern about losing my stuff in my dorm. I do not have to worry about hiding some valuable stuffs from my roommate. My roommate is also trust me not to worry about him stuffs. In contrast, random roommate who is selected by university may possibly make me afraid of losing my stuffs. As a result, I would rather choose my own roommate.

Conclusion, from this statement, if I have to stay with someone in dormitory, I prefer to select someone by myself rather than selected by university because I do not want to stay with someone that totally different and uncomfortable to stay with. Besides, choose someone I know well is that I would not to worry about mystuffs in my room, and so would my roommate. So that, in my opinion, I prefer to choose my roommate by myself.