The rapid industrialization is the cause of the degradation of environment

IELTS WRITING TASK 2: ENVIRONMENTAL PROBLEMS

SOME INDUSTRIALIZED COUNTRIES HAVE SERIOUS ENVIRONMENTAL PROBLEMS. THE DAMAGE TO THE ENVIRONMENT IS AN INEVITABLE RESULT WHEN A COUNTRY TENDS TO IMPROVE THE STANDARD OF LIVING. TO WHAT EXTEND DO YOU AGREE?

The rapid industrialization should be entwined with the degradation of environment remains a topic of debate. My stance is that economic advancement should not be entirely blamed for environment issues and there are several appropriate methods that governments can implement to deal with these problems.

Admittedly, there is empirical evidence suggesting how much harm countries thriving economically are doing to the environment. This can be seen in the exhaustion of natural resources due to extensive logging and mining, the extinction of many animal species due to poaching and the pollution of various kinds due to industrial and agricultural waste. Such problems, however, are fundamentally caused by the lack of public green's awareness and maladroit governments that either overlook the repercussions of their inaction or condone pernicious human activities because of short- term economic incentives.

I am convinced that the raising of living condition would not be achieved at the cost of environment if efficient operating methods are performed. Firstly, governments should take advantage of the technology development to produce green products, and recycle the disposed rubbish to reduce the impact of pollution. They should also heavily invest in alternative energy sources such as wind, hydro, solar power and make them viable for public use. In addition, authorities should impose and enforce strict laws to punish individuals or companies that have harmful practices to the environment. Thus, the environment could still be protected if governments around the world strove for economic sustainability.

In conclusion, I believed that by taking feasible measures, the environment protection can be put into action simultaneously with the process of industrialization.