Rates of recidivism are still high - reasons of this phenomenon and possible solutions

IELTS writing task 2 - Criminals would commit crimes again when set free

Question:

Research suggest that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison would commit crimes when set free.

What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Essay:

It is true that a large number of ex-offenders who have been set free are likely to offend again. This essay will explore two of the main reasons that lead to their recidivism and propose measures that may address them.

One of the main reasons is that most of ex-convicts usually face difficulties re-entrying into the society because of their losing all their social connections after incarceration. For instance, their former co-workers often feel unwilling to socialize with ex-prisoners, thus making them feel marginalized. Furthermore, stigmatization by their neighbors also limits their ability to lead a normal life. As a result, they usually make friends with ex-inmates who always welcome them to the world of crimes. To tackle this problem, local government and social community service bodies should create a network of supporters who can help these ex-offenders to build up their healthy social connections.

Another reason is that they cannot find good jobs. To successfully integrate back into society, these people need to be financially independent. However, their chance of applying for a good job is nearly impossible because ex-employers usually do not want to re-employ them and new employers tend to ignore their conspicuous resumes. This is likely to increase the rate of recidivism since they fail to earn a livelihood to support their own living cost. If the government had policies to train them some work skills when they were in prisons, they would have better chances to find good jobs after being released.

In conclusion, although rehabilitation programs in prisons try to improve offenders' behaviors but if the government do not have post-release programs to help ex-offenders to re-entry into the society, the rate of re-conviction may be high since they are isolated by society and unable to apply for decent jobs.