IELTS; To read or not to read: That is a question - can we learn that way about a foreign country?

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to learn about a foreign country is to read the newspapers and magazines from that country.

To read or not to read: That is a question. Nowadays, it is easier and more convenient to obtain various information about foreign countries by reading newspapers and magazines, but this approach is really suitable for everyone to learn about a certain country? As for me, I disagree with this statement that reading the newspapers and magazines are the best way to learn about a foreign country.

First of all, articles of newspapers and magazines are always quite difficult comprehensible. For a foreign learner, the language is a difficult part of learning, but the newspapers and magazines always contain a lot of difficult vocabularies and grammar. For instance, The NewYork Times newspaper includes the most important local news every day, yet for someone unfamiliar with the local language, he or she cannot understand the true meaning of a context. In addition, those articles will take people a great deal of time to learn so that it is not an efficient way of learning. Thus, those who hold the belief that reading the newspapers and magazines are not the best way to learn about a foreign country are supported again.

Secondly, the information in the magazines and newspapers are not totally true and also oppose the real-life experience. The newspapers and magazines often contain lots of exaggeration or overdue information, making people feel disappoint or mislead when they find the fact is unlike the description in the newspapers or magazines. Take me for example, when I want traveling in the U.S. three years ago, I followed the guide of American foods magazine, which recommends so many popular restaurants those are cost-effective and healthy, to taste various foods in there. After that, I was very depressed and do not think those restaurants are desirable to eat like the magazine said, since the calories and prices are too high and expensive to eat. Apparently, the magazine cannot absolutely reflect the real information.

Admittedly, many people may against my viewpoint. Those who bolster the idea may consider that reading the newspapers and magazines are the safest and the most convenient approach to learn the foreign country, since people will neither worry about self-safe when they travel in a foreign country nor spend more time to collect information by themselves to learn about a foreign country. However, not everyone can understand the meaning of contexts of newspapers and magazines. As this point, I still support that reading the newspapers and magazines are not the best way to learn about a foreign country.

To sum up, I maintain that reading the newspapers and magazines are not the best way for people to learn about a foreign country. Due to the articles are always quite difficult to learn, and the information does not reflect facts.