IELTS2- READING BOOKS VS COMPUTER & TV

reading more profitable than spending time by the screen

Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that whether the benefits of spending times on books outweigh those of using computers or TV for entertainment. Although the latter has positive effects on children, I believe that distributing more time on reading is better-off to them.

Watching TV and play computers are always attractive because of their various content. On TV, many programs on different topics enable children to choose their most favorite ones. Boys prefer topics about a robot, while girls like to watch programs about cooking. Computer games also provide huge choices such as car racing and gunfight. Besides, TV can deliver knowledge faster than reading, since it can quickly update recent news and broadcasts to everyone around the world.

However, I strongly prefer a child to read in several reasons. First, children spend too much time watching electronic devices, causing the age of serious shortsighted children going down each year. When they grew up, it will even become a serious health issue that may cause them blind. Second, finishing a whole story takes hours, helping the children to develop their brain ability such as memorizing knowledge and interpreting complex information. The early-developed skills help them to outperform people in same ages on the context of career development. According to recent studies, scientists find out that the earlier people read, the greater the possibility of they succeed in work.

In conclusion, I believe that encouraging people in their early ages to read stories helps them to have a well-developed brain status and avoid the dependent on TV or computers.