IELTS Task 2 'Reading books only containing real established facts'

Q: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should read only those books that are about real events, real people, and established facts. Use specific reasons and details to support your opinion.

A: Habit of reading will be continued further only if the content of the reading is interesting. On the other hand, those of are from the real world may be beneficial in acquiring knowledge on factual things. Based on two arguments, I firmly believe that both types of books are to be read not limiting to a side in getting the most out of it.

Restricting oneself to books on real mattes renders the reader to get certain advantages. First of all, established factual things help to be a person with a through background knowledge. In addition, these will be helpful to cultivate the patriotic ideas in youngsters and to be role models for the future generation. Therefore, it is advised to devote part of our time refer these type of materials as well.

Nevertheless, reading materials of other types including fiction exhibits a range of positive effects. This variety of books suits different ages and educational levels. For instance, an elderly living alone can spend the long lonely hours sticking to a novel. Similarly, a child will keep on reading a book with miracles of fairy tales or cartoons but may be bored by a referring a political book. Further point, is that ones ability of writing can be sharpen by going through the literature which are mostly creative piece of writings. Therefore, people prefer to be in fantasy worlds rather than dealing with the absolute truth.

In conclusion, it is unfair to make restrictions on readers to stick to so call real, but they should give the choice to select as to what should read. This balance is detrimental in acquiring facts as well as other abilities related to reading.