IELTS - Reading books or Watching TV? 'Equal credits should be given'

Hi, I am zeable. I am preparing for Ielts test. This is my essay for a writing task 2. Please correct me. Thank you so much!

Some people spend more time reading books, while others prefer to watch TV. The former group is more likely to develop creative imaginations and have a much better grasp of language skills. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are plenty of measures to obtain information and gain knowledge, among which reading and watching television are the most common ways. Some people believe those who prefer reading stand a better chance to have innovative thinking and greater development on language. However I personally object to this opinion and hold that there is no reason in saying watching TV is inferior to reading books.

Equal credits should be given to reading and watching TV in developing creative minds. As a matter of fact, imagining is closely entwisted to reading. When people read novels and magazines, what is happening in their minds is the restructure and reorganization of the information and knowledge in books. It is a most common way in which our imaginations function creatively and are improved. Nevertheless, the advantages of developing innovative thinking through watching TV should not be neglected. Some people criticize there is no necessity for our brains to work as all information on TV are shown in detailed and vivid images. Regarding this, my question is how a person can have the best understanding of a car if he doesn't see a car before. Admittedly or not, it is the fully depicted words, figures and stories that serve as source when our creative minds work.

In terms of improving language ability, reading and watching television both benefit human. The advantages of reading in developing communication skills are quite obvious. One of those is that the more books an individual read, the better literacy he or she has. The beautiful words and sentences obtained from books will directly contribute to a person's writing skill. The positive effect is also observed on people who watch TV a lot. However instead of writing, TV programs are probably more beneficial to people's listening and speaking skills. During the time spent on TV, a person will listen to other ones' talking, which will in turn have contributions to his speaking ability.

In conclusion, I am against the idea that reading books is better than watching TV in developing creative imaginations and a better mastering of languages. In my opinion they are equally important and helpful.