Task 2 - Reading books vs. Watching films and television

Hi tutors, could you please help to assess my essay below? This is the first time I create a post in this forum. Please inform me if you find any issue in my post. Many Thanks :)

*Question:

Reading books keeps a person's mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

both book and television have its pros and cons

*My Essay:

Book and television are two of the most popular entertaining activities for young people today. Someone said that reading a book will help our brain be more imagination than watching a film or TV show. I am not completely agree with this point of view.

The fact is reading a book will require us to focus on the words written there. Thus, we will completely concentrate on its content and help our brain be more imaginary. In contrast, when watching a film, we might be usually distracted by various advertisements. In addition, via a book, author can fully express his ideas without any limit of time. The more ideas araised, the longer his book is. This is what could not easily be achieved by film makers. The reason is long lasting films or shows will take more budget from producers.

However, it is no doubt that watching films or televisions would help us save more time than following a long book or novel. In some circumstances, one-minute scene on the screen can convey ideas of dozens of pages in related book. Sometime, with the support of sound and light effects, watching things on television give us greater experience than flipping book pages. On the other hand, many films ends with an opening situation which requires much imaginary from audiences. "Inception", a film in which Leonardo Dicaprio plays main actor, is a good example for this kind of ending.

To conclude, both of entertainments, book and television, have advantages and disadvantages for imaging process of our brains. Personally, I prefer reading books to watching stuffs on television because it bring me more knowledge and help my brain always be active.