IELTS task 2 Reading Ebooks vs watching TV and playing computer

Some people believe that reading stories from e book better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether reading an electronic book is a more valuable source of information than watching TV or playing computer games for children. Although nowadays television and computer games provide plenty of educational material for younger generation, I believe that reading an e book holds more advantages.

As opposed to television and computer games, reading is an activity which makes the children implement their own imagination and creativity rather than watching something that has been created for them. Furthermore, reading invokes the kids' curiosity when they encounter unfamiliar vocabulary in the text and helps them acquire knowledge about their native language when they learn the word's etymology, pronunciation and spelling.

Another reason, why e book is better than TV or games, is that reading helps children develop such skills as concentration and attention. Like any other skill, reading requires practice, and in order to fully understand the contents of the book, kids need to give their full attention to the text. It also teaches children how to predict and anticipate the development of the plot, thus building such an important skill as projecting their own future.

On the other hand, the knowledge disseminated by vivid pictures on the screen is easier to absorb by children, but the excess of colorful pictures and moving objects can distract the kids, especially the young ones, from other important tasks. Playing computer games can also be very addicting, as a result of which children fail to do well at school. Spending too much time in front of the screen can lead to developing health problems, such as shortsightedness, bad posture, etc. Therefore, reading is better for both health and effectiveness.

As a conclusion, it can be reiterated that reading an e book is a better way of learning for children than watching TV or playing computer games, as it is a more effective and healthier way to acquire new knowledge.