Reading habits of Leeville citizens - Analyse An Argument. Rate on a scale of 6

Arugment

In a study of reading habits of Leeville citizens conducted by the University of Leeville, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a follow-up study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Leeville was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

My Response

The argument states that the Leevile citizens prefer literary classics as reading material. However, a follow-up study conducted by the same researchers found that most frequently checked out book in the public libraries was a mystery novel. Therefore, the respondents in the first study have misrepresented their reading habits. This argument is flawed and also unconvincing.

The argument does not provide any information about the age group that was considered for the study conducted by the University of Leeville. It is possible that older generation of Leevile citizens prefer classics while, the current generation prefer the genre mystery. It is also unfair to generalize the reading habits of respondents without choosing the target age group. Thereby, it is completely illogical to conclude that the respondents in the first study have misrepresented their reading habits.

The second flaw that caught my eye was that the University of Leeville has considered only public libraries to find what genre of books has been checked out. The argument provide any information if private libraries exist in Leeville. Further, the argument also does not mention if public libraries present in Leeville have good quantity of classics. What if public libraries of Leeville do not have good amount of classics and hence citizens tend to pick books of other genres.

The third glaring flaw I observed in the argument is that, the argument does not mention when the study was conducted. What if there is a huge time gap between first study and its subsequent follow-up study? There is a chance of a new mystery novel released in the market when the second follow-up was conducted. In that case, it is quite natural that book lovers of Leeville will prefer to read the latest book available in the library. Hence, it is obvious that most frequently checked out book in the public library would be the mystery novel. Therefore, it is unfair to say that the respondents in the first study have misrepresented their reading habits.

The argument is constructed on lot of assumptions and thereby weakening the argument. The argument does not have minor details like the age group of the respondents. In addition, it also does not mention if Leeville has private libraries. It is these minor details which weakens the argument and also drive the argument in an illogical direction.