[IELTS Writing] Writing, reading and maths are the three major subjects

computer skills as a mandatory subject

Writing, reading, and maths are the three major subjects. Some people think that computer skills should be added as a fourth subject. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent competitive market, to apply for a vacancy and to get a high salary, computer skills are considered to be one of the most vital keys in conjunction with writing, reading and maths to lead to success in one's career. As a consequence, computer skills should be emphasized at schools as well as universities as a compulsory subject. This viewpoint has my support.

To commence with, computers skills are the core element for every individual who wishes to enter the workplace. It is undeniable that every task of most of the professions requires computer skills from typing to gathering information on the internet. For instance, the marketers need to utilize every source on the internet to seek their customers and to distribute customer-group segmentation. Without computer skills, all the tasks cannot be done in the nick of time and all the related duties, hence, will stagnate.

Not only are computer skills a demand for all employees, but it is also compulsory for those who have an intention of pursuing higher education. As an educational environment has undergone significant changes over the past decades, all the lectures at the university are no longer textbooks and paper assignments. Instead of that, most of the lectures are performed by PowerPoint and students finish their assignments by software such as Word, Excel. In other word, students also need to get access to online materials as fundamental data for their researches due to online journals. In all likelihood, computer skill really plays a key role in stimulating and boosting one's study.

In conclusion, it is essential that computer skills be included in school and university's curriculum for all the benefits to people. It is also crucial for those who intend to enter the modern workplace and the undergraduate to be equipped with.