TOEFL- reading newspapers and magazines is the best way to learn a foreign country?

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to learn about a foreign country is to read the newspapers and magazines from that country.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

To read newspapers and magazines or not to: That is the question. Newspapers and magazines content societal issues and the latest academic innovation, while the grammar and vocabularies are more difficult to learn. As for me, reading the newspapers and magazines from the foreign country is not the best approach to familiar with that country.

First of all, people who are reading newspapers and magazines cannot experience local life personally. Information of newspapers and magazines are limited by editors' capability of insight. As the Chinese proverb says, ''Going outdoor to learn various experiences is more significant than reading numerous books at home.'' Enhanceing life experience, people can learn more about a foregin country. For example, I went working-holiday in Japan last year. I was a cook assistant and I learned a great many of cooking skills of Japanese traditional foods, especially the miso soup. In addition, I made a lot of Japanese friends. They took me to their secret base which is an amazing scenery on a top of the mountain I had never seen in any newspaper or magazine before.

Second, using multimedia is a way which is more beneficial learning than reading by newspapers and magazines. Multimedia is content that uses images or audio to impress our memory, so people can be easier to learn about a foreign country than reading newspapers and magazines. According to the Scientific American magazine, children in age 2 has little ability to recognize words but can recognize images and sound. For them, learning from images and sound on TV commercials or YouTube videos is the fastest way. On the contrary, reading newspapers and magazines not adapt to any ages of people to familiar with a foreign country, for it cannot help children of little ages to learn. Thus, only by multimedia can any ages of people easily learn about a foreign country.

Admittedly, many people may against my viewpoints. Those who bolster the idea may consider that newspapers and magazines have plentiful information either societal economy growth issues or the latest technological innovation which can learn deeply about a foreign country. However, I think newspaper and magazines have incalculable arduous grammar and vocabularies which cannot easy to study. Through realistic life experience and multimedia can truly learn more about a foreign country than reading newspapers and magazines.

Lastly, although newspapers and magazines content a mass of information about current situation, life experience and using multimedia benefit directly to learn. People cannot embrace vived life experience through reading newspapers and magazines to learn about a foreign country. Unlike reading newspapers and magazines, utilizing multimedia adapt all people to learn about a foreign country. After all, reading newspapers and magazines is not the best way to familiar with a foreign country.