'In realizing my ambition to be a doctor the biology course..' - reflective essay

Please write a reflective essay (your thoughts, feelings, attitude, etc.) about your learning in biology. You may use examples to illustrate your opinion.

- The way you learn best and how you learn biology in particular

- What effect the biology course is having on your knowledge, learning, confidence and your desire to be a doctor.

Start your essay with,

"In realizing my ambition to be a doctor the biology course has...

In realizing my ambition to be a doctor the biology course has motivated me to further expand my studies in biology, offered me a better understanding of the human body and the things around us and expanded my studying skills.

Biology is a subject that is constantly increasing. I have always had an interest in science-based subjects, especially those relating to biology. When I first heard that I would be entering the University Preparatory Program (UPP) and not direct admission at Al Faisal Medical school, I was upset and I thought to myself what more am I going to learn in preparatory year that I have not already learned throughout the years of high school! I Knew I was wrong by the time we reached the first few weeks of school year. Why and how did I come to know that was because of many reasons. First, the level of discourse of the material given in Dr. Rasool's class is very detailed and offers a wider explanation to a certain topic. Biology is a never ending knowledge. What I knew in biology at the beginning of the school year was enough for high school and was not going to make me ready for Medical school. The more I attended this course the more I learn and I am always eager to learn more about a topic.

Second, I am a person that learns best when something is shown to me. This coarse has allowed me not only comprehend, see and listen to lectures and videos about the topic, but also has allowed me to experience some of the difficult topics to a microscopic level and actual real view, a level which I have not experienced before . For example, the best lab courses that offered me a better understanding to the subject we were taking, were the labs sessions for the chapters about GIT and the heart. We were able to see the duodenum and other organs and tissues to a level of microscopic view. As well as the heart dissection lab course where we were able to comprehend better how the heart is anatomically and physiologically.

Finally, throughout my high school years I used to study from one biology book and videos from YouTube, but now these two are not enough for me, because my studying skills have expanded. Now I study from at least two books, lectures given by Dr. Rasool, online websites and YouTube. Therefore, I believe that at the end of this semester I would be better prepared for the coming year because I would have a better background knowledge about biology and I would have adapted a little to the stress of Medical school. As a result, I would achieve better grades.

However, I believe if we have a chance to finish the material syllabus for a test before the exam day I would achieve higher scores, and I would not stress as much about the test. Over all, I believe that the biology coarse tests depend on what Dr. Rasool's explains and emphasizes during class time. Moreover, if I did not listen attentively during class and work hard at home, I would not have understood the topic on my own and I would not have achieved what I have achieved till now.

All in all, I am glad that I am a student attending this high standard biology course, because of it my academic standards, understanding level, and interest in biology is increased. I truly appreciate what this course has to offer me. By the will of God, by the end of this term I will have earned what I need in order to get accepted into Al Faisal Medical school and I will be better prepared for the coming year.