ielts: the reason why sports competions has replaced war

Over the past fifty years sport has played an increasingly important role in our society as a substitute for war. therefore the vast amount of money spent on international competitions such as Olympic games can be justified.

The matter whether sport events like Olympic games replaced war in recent decades has triggered hot debates. Some are of the opinion that increasing in proportion of major sport occasions directly related to disappearing of classic wars in the globe. However, others refute it. It is believed that former viewpoint carries more weights. It will be proven by analyzing role of sport in money making as well decreasing tensions.

Firstly, human being by nature like to be superior and amass more money. In the past countries perceived war as the straightest and easiest way to achieve these objectives, so they were engaged in lengthy wars.With time passed, the international situation changed considerably. now, sports competition has brought about a peaceful conditions for competing different people yo win valuable and colorful medals.

Secondly, international sports competition is not just physical contest and winning medals. In fact, it provides a venue for athletes of different countries to get familiar with each others. A valuable opportunity is given for enemy countries to relive tensions and brutality which has damaged the soul of ordinary people of these nations. The athletes of aforementioned countries gave touched a unique opportunity for shaking hands and feeling that they both are human not a warrior.Hence it is quite clear that sports completion provides a situation for developing humanistic emotions between countries especially hostile countries.

In conclusion, due to role of sports occasions in helping people in accumulate more money and creating an friendly space between enemy countries, it can be said that it has been an alternative for war.