IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - Reasons why eBooks are better (or not?) than printed books

E-BOOK VS PAPER BOOK

In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

People nowadays are increasingly deciding to read digital books rather than handbooks. I strongly believe that using e-books will be beneficial to the readers due to its practicality as well as the environment, although some believe it comes along with a certain health issue.

The development of technology introduces a new way of presenting literature known as an electronic book, which has two main benefits. Firstly, this method provides readers a more practical way of gathering information from books, allowing them to bring their books more easily. For example, students often find it hard to bring all of the paper resources they need, which is normally large and heavy, to attend the lecture. By using e-books, however, it is possible for them to bring countless books stored in a small electronic device, such as phone. Moreover, the change from paper to digital books will obviously decrease the paper usage and thus saving natural resources and protecting the world ecosystem.

On the other hand, some view that reading an electronic book causes eye problems. The reason behind this is that it has a small display screen and emits a harmful radiation to the eye. That activity is not just the one to blame though. Reading a paper book excessively in the dark, for instance, also lead to the similar problem. With regards to this, as long as the reader maintain a good reading habit, the effect can be prevented, I suppose.

To sum up, digital books bring positive impacts on both people and surroundings. People today have a chance to read books effectively without wasting any paper through e-books. Unfortunately, there is a speculation that reading e-books might be harmful, but I see that its effect is minor.

(WORDS : 287)