Reasons why not settle down in another planet

Looking for a new planet to settle

It is obvious that finding a new place to sustain people on Earth has always been a hotly-debated issue. Some people believe that a way to tackle this problem is to find a replaceable planet to live on. From my point of view, this solution is not practical and resources must be used cleverly.

First, let us take a look at the reasons why Earth become inhabitable. One of the major problem is the overexploitation of natural resources. For instance, as the demands for energy are expanded, many factories extract the fossil fuels, such as oil, coal and gas heavily, which has a negative impact on the environment. Another consideration is that humans are intensively destroying the oceans. Each year, human being dumps tons of garbage into the sea, destroying the aquatic life and, at the same time, contaminating the drink water.

It seems like moving to another planet can solve this problem, however, I believe that reserch on fiding it would be a waste of resouces. First, there is no guarantee that scientists will find a suitable planet in one day. Though our astronomy is thriving remarkably, it is still a question whether a planet that similar to Earth is existed. Secondly, resources should be used to enhance environmentally-friendly technologies or improve health services. People are treating Earth in a wrong way but it may took at least millions of years to be completely destroyed. Until that day comes, humans must concentrate on preserving the Earth. To take a simple example, developments on machines that effectively renewable energy should be considere.

To sum up, I believe research on a new planet to settle is a waste of time and money, and resources should be to used to sustain lives here on Earth.