Reasons and solutions for wasting food

Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening ? and how can we solve this problem?

Wasting food is a disquieting problem

An excessive amount of food is thrown away on a daily basis, which is a burning issue throughout the world. This problem results from certain reasons. However, many steps can be taken to address the issue.

Obviously, there are many causes leading to the phenomenon. First of all, the amount of wasted food has surged substantially due to mass production. Various types of food are manufactured significantly and customers can purchase food in every supermarket or any stores at any time. Therefore, people have a tendency to underestimate the vital role of food as they think food is always available and never become lacking. Another reason is due to the reasonable price of food. It is clear that mass production gives rise to the imbalance between supply and demand. Food is becoming superfluous, more than people's demand and therefore, it becomes affordable for every customer. People buy a huge amount of agricultural produce and raw meat as they are at the low price. Last underlying cause is people buy food because they want, not for their requirements. It is inevitable that food companies have several strategies to attract potential customers to buy their food such as stunning packages, fresh food selection or food discount programs. As a result, buyers are appealed to purchase more food despite having enough at home.

Nevertheless, there are different measures to settle the global issue. Initial solution is governments should raise citizens' awareness by disseminating information about the food role. People have to understand the significance of food, do not buy because of its eye-catching appearance and should be educated methods to preserve food for many days. Secondly, inhabitants should be encouraged to use left-over food in place of throwing away. For instance, they can donate redundant food for the homeless and the disadvantaged or gather stinky food for animal breeding in order to save food.

In conclusion, wasting food is becoming a hot trend recently as a result of mass production, price decrease and enterprises' promotional strategies. Those in control should come up with several approaches to deal with the reality, ranging from education to donation.