IELTS TASK 2: Reasons for studying history and the effect of not studying history

To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

History is an integral part of the curriculum in primary and secondary schools. Some people argue that there is no benefit to study the history that can be replaced by the subjects more relevant to life. However, it is not a logical opinion for many reasons.

Although it is true that history, involving events that occurred in the past, are less relevant to modern life than other subjects like languages, it is undeniable that valuable human experience is displayed as history shows a flow of time, which can be very useful in planning for the future. If people could know the mistakes that had been made before in advance, they will attempt to avoid making the same mistakes. In addition, history, being considered as a record of human society, is one of the most important sources for people to understand it. Furthermore, studying history contributes to a sense of belongings, which reminds people that which country they belong to.

On the other hand, if children are not taught about history, they will lose cultural identity gradually due to lacking of awareness of the importance of culture. Consequently, children will not have sufficient knowledge to illustrate the culture and traditions of their country to foreign people because of their reluctance of studying history. Therefore, history cannot be ignored in the education of the next generation.

To conclude, I concede that some other subjects seem to be more relevant to daily life than history do. However, studying history cannot be ignored because it involves not only a summary of human experience but also a sense of cultural belonging.