"Reasons vary for people to attend college" - Practice TOEFL

Title : People attend college or university for many different reasons( for example new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Answer:

Reasons vary for people to attend college. For example in my country Nigeria, most parents send their children to university so as to ensure they have increased knowledge and be able to secure a good job after school.

This is because in Nigeria most university graduates are likely to get better jobs than those that only have high school diplomas.

In my opinion earning a college or University degree is a security for ones future. A degree always comes in handy when applying for a job. Even if you want to start a business, knowledge gotten from school always helps.

I think it is best people attend college/uni because aside the experience does not only increase knowledge and preparation careers, but it is a medium as well which helps develop character and maturity in oneself.

For example a first time undergraduate is an18 year old who has never lived on his/her own and probably doesn't know how to take care of themselves.

College/Uni provides that platform for independence, learning responsibility, taking care of oneself etc.

Like for me, before I left for college, I never knew how to cook and was preety much lazy. I hated making my bed, But with extra neat housemates I learnt how to tidy up and cook because once a week I and my housemates would take turns in cooking.

Therefore it is very important if the opportunity is there to go to college/uni and maximize the benefits. It's a tough experience but the results a re worth it.