TOEFL Essay: "Reasons to work other than earning money"

Hi,

Request you to please check my essay and correct it. Any suggestions appreciated.

People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Money is important to live and to earn that money people need to work. This is one of the main reasons of working but, I believe that, money is not everything we cannot buy happiness with money. There are many other reasons of working such as to gain experience, volunteering, to help others and for physical and mental exercise which give satisfaction to people. These people work for happiness, satisfaction and relaxation and not for money.

The first reason to work is to gain an experience. There are many students who work to gain an experience and not for money. Some students do part time job while studying. Some students work full time after completing their education to gain a practical experience without salary. In my own experience, I used to do a part time job while doing my master just to gain a practical experience. That was my first job and I learned many important things there. The most important thing is that, an organization in which I was working allowed me to complete my project work there. That was very useful because whatever I was learning in college, the same work I was practicing on my work. That was a practical experience which was more important at that stage than money. So, some people work to earn experience.

The second reason is some people like to do social services such as volunteering. Many people do volunteering in Library or in Community. We can see many old age people do such work for the sake of satisfaction and not for money. Not only old age people do these works but youngsters also do. For example, I regularly go in library there I met many old age people who work as a volunteer and they enjoy their work. One day, I talked to one lady there, she is retired person and she works there because she wants to do some social service and wants to make new friend and by doing this she can spend her time in something good. I was inspired by her I also applied for volunteer. Now I am also working as a volunteer in a library and help others to teach computers. So, providing services can also be a reason of work.

In addition, some people like to help others. They cannot seat idle. There is a saying that, "Idle mind is the devils workshop" and I think this is true. For example, my uncle John, He is very friendly and helping in nature. He likes to help others and he always keeps himself busy in work. If does not have any work, then he goes to do community services. He believes that helping others gives him satisfaction with physical and mental exercise. Many people want to educate and share their knowledge with others. For example, all moderators and contributors on essay forum check our essays and help us to improve our English for free. We all must have read the slogan on forum which is, "the biggest reward is helping others" and it is absolutely true.

Finally, I believe that, not all people work for money and earning money is not only their reason to work. There are many reasons of working other than earning money such as helping others, gaining experience, volunteering and the like which give people a happiness and satisfaction.

Thanks,

Ana.