In recent years, some higher education institutions have provided access to their online courses

Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online

In recent years, some higher education institutions have provided access to online courses for people. Despite some obvious benefits, this is overall an undesirable development.

On the one hand, distance learning can be beneficial in some cases. First of all, this education form is extremely convenient. This is because when taking online courses, the students can study at home over their phones or computer without commuting to their university. It is, therefore, an optimal option for the learners since they not only can save money for traveling expenses but also avoid the risks of being exposed to the contagious virus in the context of the global pandemic. Additionally, students of these online classes can study at their own pace because they can replay the lessons as many as they want. Besides that, the availability of lectures on the internet can make high-quality curriculum from prestigious universities accessible to the students at their convenience.

On the other hand, there are hosts of compelling reasons why learning online brings with it many disadvantages. For one, online classes can reduce learning and teaching proficiency. In fact, teachers usually find it hard to organize the class because they lack real interaction with their students. In other words, the deficiency of teachers' involvement could cause the decline of students' discipline. As a result, students possibly cut class or cheat in the exams without supervision. Additionally, from the perspective of the learners, they can not fully concentrate on the lectures when they study at home and become surrounded by unwanted distractions such as noise or the temptation of the internet.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that online education has several benefits, I would contend that this is indeed a negative tendency.