In recent years, a lot of readers are choosing to read e-books and not the regular books.

In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Advantages and Disadvantages of the EBooks

Over the last few years, the number of EBook consumers has dramatically increased, falling the paper book market. Due to the more sophisticated and interactive facilities, many people choose EBooks over the printed books. I believe that this trend has more benefits than drawbacks.

Firstly, it is true that there are potential drawbacks of the E-Reading. The primary concern that many readers have with this trend is the Health problems; Since the EBooks only support for the digital platforms such as mobiles and computers, readers have to spend significant time in front of the LCD screens that can potentially cause health problems such as vision problems, and depression. Therefore, constant reading of E-books can result in health damages.

However, despite the health issues, the advent of the Electronic books contributed several advantages to the Readers. Prior to the EBooks, readers had to waste too much time to find the required book by searching through the numerous bookshelves at the library. Sometimes it was impossible to purchase the book due to the high demand and lack of copies. The E-Book, however, has changed this completely. There are several EBooks downloadable websites and apps available such as Kindler and eBay, So, Consumers can quickly locate the required Ebook from online stores and immediately purchase without any shipment delays. Therefore, availability wise, consuming Ebooks are more convenient than the paper books.

In addition to the availability, the highly-interactive features also make it more popular among the readers and publishers. While the traditional Paper books only support for text and image forms to represent the content, Ebooks allow rendering the content in several multimedia forms such as images, videos, audios, and Hyperlinks. For instance, If a reader wants to explore more about the topic, he can just click on the hyperlink and navigate to the additional information rather than wasting time to find out the appendix and relevant other books. So, it goes without saying that EBooks act more collectively to present the data to their audience.

In conclusion, increasing usage of the E-books has reduced the paper books consumption. There are some disadvantages of this trend regarding the health concern of the readers. But nevertheless, the interactive features and more availability make it stand out from the paper books; thus I argue that the advantages of the Ebooks far outweigh than the demerits it has.

PS: I know that this essay is too long for IELTS. If possible, please indicate how I can reduce the number of words. (or any unnecessary sentences of this essay)