Ielts task 2. In recent years, people are likely to live alone instead of starting a family

the "single life" have gained popularity nowadays

In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, people are likely to live alone instead of starting a family because of some reasons. While some of them think that it has affected seriously to society, I suppose it could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

In some nations, many people may prefer pursuing their career to getting married. Personally, it is beneficial to set up home on their own When more and more people decide to live independently, it may help population decrease gradually through time, which leads to family planning is controlled effectively to governments. In addition, humans have not been put under pressure about family finances that means they will not become a burden to anyone as well as no one has to feel the burden from them. It will be easier to promote the high position as they want if they sacrifice most of time for working instead of preparing a marriage. Therefore, the focus on career development may support them and their family later to be better lives and have a positive effect on the country's economy.

However, a rise in demand for home tends to push the country into housing shortages because of independent lifestyle. Governments could not tackle the expansion of land for each individual when some countries must enhance in education, health facilities and some important trades by building many places to serve people's lives. It leads to property prices and rents increase rapidly. Consequently, residents earn low wages and inability to work who will be at the risk of homelessness.

In conclusion, no matter how advantage and even disadvantages have, I recognize that young generation have an interest in single life rather than marrying someone.