(IELTS Essay) In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large

In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a Positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the trend of doing shopping from mega shopping malls instead of local stores has risen significantly. Majority of the consumers are now avoiding small local stores in their daily purchase which are resulting in closure of the many. In my view this is a negative advancement because it harms retail wages as well as the environment.

To being with, the wide preferences of public to do shopping in bigger shopping centers are creating problems for the small ventures. Being neglected by the customers, a lot of local businesses have been closed and the remaining are under serious threats from this newly developed shopping style. As a result, the closures of these small shops have affected the livelihood of a large segment of the society because of lost in employment of the workers linked with smaller scale businesses. It is evident from recent survey of Pakistan Bureau of Statistics that around 30 percent local shops have been closed in the vicinity of bigger shopping centers in Lahore.

Moreover, it also takes into account that the constructions of mega shopping centers is negatively affecting the environment. That is to say, these stores require skyscrapers to operate their business in contrast to the small, local businesses which lined in the streets and does not requires any new building. Furthermore, the local businesses are eco-friendly as most of their customers can access these through a simple walk. However, the shoppers of large store chains have to used private cars or public transport which is causing harmful effects on the environment concerning to high rate of carbon emissions.

To conclude, I would assert that the large shopping chains replacing local businesses is a negative trend. Not only do they effect the livelihood of those linked with these but also contributing to the environmental pollution.