Recently many film and music pieces are given online for free. Is it a positive trend?

sharing music or films online

Nowadays a large number of movies and songs are available on internet at free of cost. I believe it is a very positive trend though it may seem financially negative at first for singer, actors or producers. This essay will first discuss about the the positive aspects of reaching the global audience though online and then outline the benefits of giving it free thus helping who cannot afford these.

Distributing cinema or music online at free of cost will create a mass appeal to people and will be available for mass audience. As nowadays almost every single people starting form youth has a smart device. Giving these online for free will enhance there curiosity and they will watch or listen it as they are not spending any money. This will help the music or feature films to reach people beyond any geographical boundary. In a recent news in the Times, 41% of Hollywood online movie watcher are from South Asian countries where Hollywood movies are hardly available and they watch these online for free.

On the other hand, these kind of contents enable the underprivileged people to find a way to entertain themselves. As per research, any kind of entertainment and recreational activities help alleviate anxiety, depression and other mental health disorders. Most of the poor people are not aware about mental health and are susceptible to mental hazards. If they would be able to get free entertainment contents online, it might help in their overall mental wellness. In 2014, a NGO named Pathtime distributed funny videos and melodies to locals of a South African city which were prone to mental illness due to poverty. Within six months a significant improvement has been observed with less people reported an mental condition.

In conclusion, features film and musicals always had positive effect in the society. If these can be given free for all on internet, it may bring a revolutionary change in the society and world. Government can make a contribution to make these available for all with easy access.