Recently, people have a tendency of living on their own

Topic: In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recently, people have a tendency of living on their own, especially in developed countries. On my point of view, this trend could have both positive and negative effects.

The rise in the numbers of one-person households is likely to have the positive consequences for both individual and broader reasons. Firstly, when people choose to live alone, they have choices to experience the new things. On a personal level, being alone in a house requires one to manage a large number of works. As a result, they can gain more skill and know more about things that they could not have known when living with others. For example, they have to cook, wash the dishes, do the laundry or pay the bills by themselves. These things are the life skills that they can get when living alone. For the broader perspective, economic, for instance, an adult who chooses to live alone can contribute to the development of their national industry. When there is just one homeowner for a house, the number of products or services they need are much more, which benefits the host of other companies as well as the country's economic.

On the other hand, living alone also brings to these people lots of troubles. First of all, rather than the feeling of being independent, the person who lives alone may experience the feelings of loneliness, being home-sick and worry. They miss out their family's support or daily conversation with family's members. Trying to do the whole things that each person in a real family has to do may stress them with nervousness. They can feel the overload of their life and sometimes be tired and bored. What's more, being on their own when they are old enough makes them manage their budget and bear the weight of all household bills and responsibilities. From this financial point of view, if the demanding in housing rises, they are likely to push up poverty prices and rents.

In conclusion, choosing to live alone will have to face up both the beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and on the economy.