Recuirtment of teachers in Ontario; the percentage of English-language tutors had a downward trend

Information about the recruitment of English and French-language teachers in Ontario from 2001 to 2007 is illustrated in the line graph. Overall, it can obviously be seen that even though it saw a decrease in the beginning of the period, the percentage of French-language teachers had an upward tendency. However, the percentage of English-language teachers had a downward tendency.

According to the data, in the beginning of the period English-language instructors stood at virtually 75%, higher than French-language tutors (70%) then it declined sharply in the next two years to two-fifths. In contrast, French-language teachers stood at seven in ten and reached a trough of roughly a half before it rose markedly to almost 70% in 2003. In spite of some fluctuations in the next following years, the recruitment of French-language tutors finally reached a high of approximately 73% at the end of the period while the demand of English-language instructors hit a low of less than a third.