[REFERENCES LETTER] She has demonstrated an exceptional ability to grasp the rigorous demands of job

Hi EF,

I was asked to draft a letter of recommendation for Chevening application by my former Project Manager. Input from you will be welcomed.

The reference should cover the following:

1) How long have you known the applicant?

2) In what capacity do you know the applicant? (e.g. professional, educational, supervisory, voluntary, religious)

3) When you last had regular contact with the applicant?

4) A brief overall endorsement of the applicant.

she will be an asset to your program

It is with great confidence that I write this letter of recommendation on behalf of Sehat Dinati Simamora.

In my capacity as her former Project Manager of APINDO (The Employer's Association of Indonesia)-EU ACTIVE (Advancing Indonesia's Civil Society in Trade and Investment), a highly respected project for preparation Comprehensive Economic Parnetship Agreement (CEPA) between EU-Indonesia, I have supervised Sehat's work directly since she joined us in February until November, 2014. Until now, Sehat and I stay keep contact because even though we are not working on the same project anymore, our current jobs are still related on economics and development areas. Therefore, we still meet often with our former team to discuss current issues and also update each other's work as a mean of knowledge sharing. Hence, it is appropriate in this letter of recommendation to review Sehat's contributions to our project.

Since the first day of her tenure with us, Sehat has demonstrated an exceptional ability to grasp the rigorous demands of the job. A Junior Economist at APINDO-EU ACTIVE Project must undertake research on and analysis of the needs and strategies of business sector in Indonesia, conduct policy oriented research and develop relevant policy recommendation on issues on a range of topics (trade issues, investment, services, and barriers to competitiveness, logistics and transport and capacity building requirements for business), assist in the preparation of negotiating positions and submissions to Government of Indonesia, prepare presentations and policy position papers for the APINDO Board in cooperation with the Public Outreach and Media Officer, work with member survey information and economic data for the APINDO Board and for the publication, and participate in capacity building programs for small-medium-enterprises for certain sectors in regions (Medan, Semarang, Surabaya, and Jakarta). Beyond the complex policy and economic analysis that Sehat has performed in our team, she showed a distinct learning skill, determination towards perfection, unquestionable passion in industrial and environmental economics. Among Sehat's two strongest attributes is her communication skills, and she demonstrates a balance of a pure scientist and marketer with her personal and intellectual qualities.

Sehat often became the assistant Shinta Widjaja Kamdani (APINDO Board who is also the President of Indonesia Business Council for Sustainable Development) in preparing presentation materials and attending the relevant national and international forums for sustainable development. It gave Sehat great opportunities to learn many things and meet key figures that related to sustainable development movement in Indonesia. I am convinced this network will be very useful and certainly utilized by Sehat in her career as an economist and policy makers in the future.

Sehat was also responsible for handling capacity building for SMEs businessmen for coffee, cacao, textiles and textile products, footwear, furniture, handicrafts, shrimp, tuna and other seafood products. She was in charged for the content material presented by speakers and led the survey for the participants that related to industry conditions. Within the framework of capacity building, Sehat prepared two market brief market about the strategies of exporting to the EU as a guide for SMEs to exports and/or to increase their exports.

Here, I saw Sehat's personal, intellectual, and interpersonal qualities. Months before the event, Sehat took advantage of her networking to collect SMEs data in various cities. After gained, she had to contact and convince them to participate in this capacity building. With a wide variety of backgrounds of participants, Sehat showed an excellent interpersonal qualities in dealing with the SMEs' employers who are far more senior than her either before or during the activity. She could be flexible in leading the participants to attend each session and mediated debates that took place during the discussions when needed.

In summary, Sehat is well-suited to study in a graduate program aboard. She has not only the capability, but also the motivatioin to succeedd. Consequently, I am confident that Sehat will be an asset to your program and I recommend to you in the highest terms.