IELTS Task 2 regarding impact of modern technology

Topic: Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think is making them less sociable. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

How can technology make people less social?

Modern technology eliminates boundaries in communication such as distance, time and places. Some people agree that people more sociable due to existence of modern technology but others think opposite, it makes them more individual and isolate. There are several opinions related to this topic.

Technology plays significant part in our daily life, we use mobile phone since morning right after get up from bed until we sleep at night. Many activities we could do with mobile phone such as browsing, reading newspaper and update their social life via social media. People using social media to make new friend that share common interest and update their activities, interested places and beautiful scenery in return they hoping to get appreciation from mutual friends. Another thing that have impacted by modern technology is easier to communicate with people although live far away, using whatsapp or skype, so time, places and distance will not be main obstacle nowadays. These show us that modern technologies not only make people more sociable but also improve way of communication.

However, there is one main drawback that may occur from using modern technology. Issue related disharmony and mistrust caused by less level of face-to-face interaction between people. People today prefer to use video call when communicate with friends because more simple and can be done anywhere. This may result to loss sense of belonging between people and increase dishonesty that obstruct life harmony.

Therefore in my opinion, existence of modern technologies could eliminate obstacles in communication between people but not forget drawback that may occur from heavily rely on it. People still need to have real engagement and meeting face-to-face with one another to create harmony and building trust in relationship.