Are relationships between people and pets good? [TOEFL]

Nowadays, having a pet at home is very popular among pairs and lonely people of young and old age. Special parks and playgrounds are organized for one of the most popular domesticated pats - a dog. However, there appears an opinion that such close relationships between people and animals are bad because pets cannot replace children.

In my opinion, domestic pets are justified. First of all, an animal can become a friend of a lonely person. People who have, for example, a tamed dog at home, have to devote much attention to their little friends. Dog owners walk their pets two times a day, buy them food and keep them clean and tidy.

Secondly, I believe that people who take an animal in their home do a good dead. It is a well known fact that there are many homeless dogs. Not all the pet owners bought their pets in a shop. I know many people who gave shelter to homeless animals who could die from starvation.

Nevertheless, some people state that pets are no good. They think that an animal cannot substitute a child and therefore there is no reason to have an animal at home. Some people also say that when animals are tamed, they are deprived from their freedom and always have to obey their master.

To sum up, some people believe that relationships between people and pets is a good thing, while others consider them useless. From my point of view, keeping an animal at home is a generous act and it also provides you with devoted and faithful friend.