Nowadays, there remain misconceptions relating to the gender inequality.

[Ielts task 2 - Discus] Men and women are different in terms of their characteristics and abilities.

Nowadays, there remain misconceptions relating to the gender inequality. To be specific, many people contend that some occupations are more suitable for men than for women and vice versa. This has been argued and interpreted via providing a diversity of reasons of their personal features and capacities. I am in two minds about this idea. In this essay, I will support my view with examples.

It is true to tell that many jobs requiring strength and health are specialized for men. As Vietnamese ancient people believed that "men are the main pillar of the house and women are responsible for taking care of their children and supporting domestic works". Take airmen as an example, pilots of airlines in Vietnam are all men. This is due to the fact that these technology and engineering specializations have some specific priorities for males. Consequently, women are discriminated in terms of finding these similar jobs, although they are quite passionate about it.

Returning to the other side of the problem, I claim that this conception listed contributes to the gender discrepancies. This will lead to an undeniable fact that females do not get chance to perform what they like and so do men. In fact, scientists around the world illustrate that an individual's advantages might be other's weaknesses. Hence, it is clear that we all the equality in access to employment opportunities which depend on our expectations and abilities as well. Shinawatra, for instance, is the first female Prime Minister who is also well-known as an entrepreneur and politician.

By way of conclusion, I partially agree with this opinion and sometimes it is not the case. From my point of view, I think that we all need to set criteria for each professional. From that, we choose the best working place that satisfies our conditions.