Repeating bad habits despite the fact that these habits could be detrimental for the health

IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Topic - health

Topic: Scientists tell us some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that millions of people continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions?

Answer:

It is true that many people keep repeating bad habits despite the fact that these habits could be detrimental to their health. While there are various reasons for this, the government can solve this problem by adjusting the law and promoting healthy activities.

The reasons why people adopt unhealthy habits are largely due to lack of time and the availability of technological devices. Firstly, the fast pace of modern life, which requires people to spend more time at work than in the past, sets a limit to the time spending on pleasurable activities. A prominent example of this argument is that many people these days have chosen fast food as a solution for their limited time in spite of all the health warnings from nutritionists. Secondly, technology is also attributed to the sedentary lifestyle of modern people. It is the convenience of digital entertainment such as video games or social networks that discourages people from engaging in outdoor activities.

Sticking to these harmful habits for a long time would lead to health deterioration. It is, therefore, urgent that the government take action to tackle this problem in the first place. The simplest measure is to impose heavy tax on unhealthy products including fast food, alcohol and tobacco whilst lifting that of organic food to encourage healthy eating patterns. Apart from that, the government can encourage citizens to get more exercise by placing sports facilities in populated areas or co-operate with educational institutions and organizations to hold more physical activities.

In conclusion, unhealthy activities are attributable to the lack of time and the utility of electrical gadgets. It rests with the government to remedy the problem.