If you are required to obtain a second specialty, what specialty would you like to study and why?

Practice:A second specialty

If you are required to obtain a second specialty to help better the job you apply for, what specialty would you like to study? Why?

As the working condition transforms from generation to generation, it is more difficult to find a job than before. In such a technology-driven era, more and more people compete against others in a workplace with more than one skill for work. For instance, a salesperson can sell the goods with another language. A waiter with management skills or an accounter with computer skills is also usual in the society. Fostering the second specialty has become a trend and advantage for the employees nowadays. In my opinion, I am willing to study public relations as my second specialty.

Living in a society with various people to confront and interact with, we are easy to encounter unwitting conflicts and even something worse. Sometimes we are forced to meet authorities, foreigners and people in other ages in a workplace, facing different social occasions in order to achieve our goal for work. The essential skill we required is an ability of conversation, which can be acquired from studying public relations. The second specialty will bring skills for learning how to interact with others after listening to and realizing what their intention is, and that's the crucial point related to the fact if we can have a decent conversation when we confront with others.

However, there are numerous details which can be applied to many matters on the subject of public relations. In the political side, the government has to establish lasting and favorable relations with various departments in the society, so communication skills can be one of the significant abilities affecting the result. In the economic side, conglomerates will go to great lengths to get the best profits with outstanding performance for negotiation. Investors also monitor which conditions of companies look profitable for a stake. Not only interpersonal skills but a brilliant image in public are need to learn in public relations for political and economic territory, much more applications in the social side. For example, it is important to deal with conflicts in a smooth and decent way as we have different opinions from other supervisors in the workplace. In the society, how to overcome the stalemate with coworkers, customers or others in other territories is an inevitable subject that everyone will experience and learn.

Overall, public relations can be widely applied in our life. No matter which works we choose, where we are striving for our own life goal, I believe that studying public relations will benefit on all our lifetime, because we live in groups, naturally causing interpersonal matters. Although public relations is an implicit skill, the merit of learning it enables us easier get along with the society.