Research essay:The necessity of supernatural figures in society today

My assignment is to provide a detailed and descriptive paper in order to discuss the significance of any supernatural figures in society today. Ultimately, I have to answer the question "Why do we need supernatural figures or superheroes?"

Collecting over sixty-five million dollars in Hollywood's weekly box office, Thor marked America's quenching thirst for the latest super hero debuts and movie releases over the past decade. Since 2000, superhero movies soon became the new taboo, attracting audiences on a global scale. After amassing whopping profits across the nation, movie directors and producers are announcing several sequels and productions in the upcoming decade: including the newest installments to the X-men, Spiderman, and Batman series. Likewise, new movie debuts, such as The Green Lantern and Captain America are adding to America's fetish for super heroes. As a result, this phenomenon enabled critics to question the sudden resurgence of superheroes and their significance in today's society.

Since the creation of the first comic book hero of Superman and Captain America in the years of the Great Depression and WWII periods, each comic book character delineates a distinctive feature of society's flaws or imitations of its political and social standpoints. For instance, during the 1990s, the prevalent comic book hero, Dreadpool, was more than just a human who possessed supernatural abilities with great strength, speed, and combat skills. Moreover, Dreadpool, as well as many other comic book heroes, served as a symbol of society's struggles and breakthroughs of a certain period. In fact, Dreadpool restored a sense of power and hope to the American people during the 1990s, and proved to be a revolutionary figure in the upcoming decades.

The creation of Dreadpool differed greatly from the classic superheroes of the 20th century. Unlike the typical facial and physical characteristics of Superman, Dreadpool realistically portrayed an ordinary middle-class gentleman. Although Dreadpool did have similar traits of Superman, such as the muscular body, striking jaw lines, and masculine superiority, Dreadpool considerably diverged from the classical superhero. In fact, Dreadpool had a grotesque, scarred face, similar to a villain. In addition, Dreadpool possessed a much more villainous and mysterious costume. And unlike Superman, besides having a superhuman healing factor and endurance, Dreadpool utilized several guns and weapons available in the realistic world. Henceforth, the transformation of the new superhero attracted many followers. In contrast to Superman, Batman, or Spiderman, an average individual can easily portray themselves as a Dreadpool, due to his realistic features. As a result, Dreadpool's impact on the revolutionary period of the 1990's engrossed many followers during the rapidly transforming society.

During the 1990s, American's faced an era similar to the Industrial and Agricultural age in the previous centuries: The Digital and Technological period. During this revolution, the Dot-com Bubble, or the invention of the Internet gave variety of access and opportunities to businesses and common people alike. Within a decade, the American society transformed into a digital world; where pixels, graphics, and cool gadgets reigned over the obsolete appliances. In addition, the 90s took hold of the ideologies of realism and urging the common man to think rationally and pragmatically. Hereafter, the humdrum age of foolish fallacies and romantic misconceptions were ceased. As a result of this rapid transformation, the common man needed an inspirational figure which served as an epitome of the new and transformed American society.

Likewise, Dreadpool's creation not only entertained the American public, but also served as the catalyst of realism in the American society. During the former years of the 20th century, society was represented in a black and white manner. For several decades, society conformed to two ideologies, Good vs. Evil. Thus, protagonists and heroes were portrayed flawlessly and morally just, while villains were characterized as outcasts who committed unrighteous acts. However, the rise of Dreadpool gave consideration to a more practical society. In fact, Dreadpool served as the first anti-hero in the modern world. Although Dreadpool was involved in many misdemeanors, including sensual and drunkard acts, the superhero holistically portrayed a morally just personality with many imperfections. As a result, Dreadpool served as an accurate representation of the American public. Nonetheless, the common man understood the fallacies of perfectionism displayed by classical superheroes, and soon gave rise to many more anti-heroes such as Iron Man, Wolverine, Ghost Rider, and The Punisher.

Initially the creation of the superhero gave reassurance and hope to the American public by rescuing civilians from terrorism, threats, and natural disasters. However, since the creation of Dreadpool and many other anti-heroes, the American society can easily escape to an entertaining world. In fact, the rise of the anti-hero gives comfort to the imperfect common man, hopelessly reaching to strive for perfection.