Research essay - Are older people wiser than younger people?

Are older people wiser than younger people?

Gregory 1

Rio Salado College

Technology and Education

Ricky Gregory

English 102

Instructor Marion Hickman

March 1, 2021

Gregory 2

They say the older you get the wiser you become, which is a very interesting and debatable saying. I do believe other people tend to make better choices than younger people. Prefrontal cortex could allow mature older people more deliberative thinking. I understand why some people feel that being older makes you wiser. I personally do not believe that aga can determine who is wiser and smarter. There're tons of options out there. Are the older wiser than the younger.

Being older gives you a heads up on decision making, and choices. Ever heard of the saying been there done that, the experience of different situations or life itself gives us wisdom and knowledge. We learn from actions and reactions, the older you are the more you would have experienced and learned. You will approach circumstances different each time you come across it is learning from past interactions.

We live in a very judgmental world where personal traits like personality, and communication can play a huge role and how intelligent someone thinks you are having the ability to understand problems, situations or obstacles. Older people tend to overcome faster than younger I feel like mainly because the experience and being around to have seen it or heard about it. when you go about or come across something for the first time you need you kind of second guess yourself and can affect the outcome.

Younger people are usually more woo intense than older people. Making the best decisions possibly isn't instantly making a decision in the blink of an eye you need to understand what's at hand and comprehend as much as possible there for your answer or response would be thought out and more accurate. Having knowledge is key which younger and older people have.

Gregory 3

The experience and ability to comprehend is the advantage. Most of the wise think before they speak.

old or young thinking before you act out shows patience, self-control, focus and awareness all are traits of the wise. It's hard to get the younger to focus on anything other than what they want to focus on. The older tend to focus more on detail not just on things they want to know about, but also things they feel they need to know about. Being careful is what you feel like you know is always a good thing and being young or old has nothing to do with it.

The younger in different situations will be able to solve and figure out answers or situations that an older person may not know or remember. That's why comprehension is a big feature in this research. Not being able to comprehend makes it harder to learn and understand things. Being able to comprehend what's being taught is understanding and helps one be able to memorize. No one will remember everything but being able to process your thoughts and pay attention to details will help you remember of words or pictures of details you learned. Age has nothing to do with that.

Education and history are another difference they can determine how smart or wise you are. The education system is thought differently through the generations. It's a lot easier to get an education now than it was to be which the advantage to the younger generation. It all kind of boils down to being able to understand and comprehend information that's being processed.

I personally don't believe older people are wiser than younger people they just been around longer. Other people have an experience advantage the younger you around the more you go through and that prepares you for what's to come. Instinctively a lot of people would like to

Gregory 4

believe that the old is wiser than the younger and in some cases it is. As we learn we become better positions too realizes same kind of situations and handling them better the next time around. There is a such thing refer to as "wise beyond years" if possible, a younger person is thoughtful and learns from others situation or mistakes. In due time it's possible for one to become selfish as time goes on becoming self-indulgent and not warned about wise actions or acting wisely.

Most physiologists agree that if you define wisdom as maintaining a positive wellbeing during challenges is that quality is the most important one you can have to age successfully. learning early and consistently increasing your knowledge can possibly help remembering things later on down the line as you get older.

Overall, I think age doesn't make you wiser or smarter. Even though older people May know a lot that younger people may not doesn't make them wiser. There is also a lot that younger people know that older people don't know. There may not be a lot of wise young people, but there is a good handful. Even though the older seem wiser and have experience from past situations, as they continue to age there a big chance, they continue to lose memory. Younger people are easier to teach older people focus can be off depending on the state of memory there in. Each group of older and younger people have their own advantages, but I don't think neither is wiser than the other. Some old people may be wiser than some young people and some young people may be wiser than some older people. Age doesn't decide who's wiser things like education memory and being able to comprehend what being taught are things that separate the wise from the unwise not age.