IELTS writing task 2. Resembling of most countries today. Positive or negative development?

Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Globalization has changed the world as we once knew it. Every day people around the globe are acquiring alike products such as clothes, books or art items with internet help. One of the consequences of this situation is the resembling of most countries these days. Whether this is a positive or a negative outcome should be analyzed carefully before making any decision.

First, social, cultural, artistic and even economic diversity among countries must be protected now more than ever due to globalization. The possibility of losing countries identity by this phenomenon of people around the world buying the same products it is clearly a negative result of this tendency. Nowadays, a teenager looks the same no matter where he or she lives; in contrast, former generations were more diver in these issues.

In addition, countries are losing not only their identity regarding clothes and looks but also in artistic matters. Today a person is able to buy or sell by internet any piece of art from any country in the world. This trend is affecting singularity in artistic and cultural areas within a country.

Looking at the positive side of this situation, internet and globalization, in general, allow people from elsewhere to acquire any product they need or want easily. People from countries where there was not available sort of items, now are buying them by the internet, for instance, medicine, food or household tools.

To conclude, despite the fact that this tendency has a positive side, it is believed that the negative implications overweight the positive ones. The identity of countries should endure many years in the future.