IELTS task 2: Resist change or Welcome change?

People naturally resist making changes in their lives. What kind of problems can this cause? What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that people are very reluctant to make changes in their lives. Once we are comfortable in our everyday routine, we merely think about changing it, fearing about losing the current comfy lifestyle. However, most of the time, resistance to change leads to certain problems in life.

Although people who have been doing the same job for years are able to complete the task easily, they are usually less satisfied about themselves. In other words, they tend to doubt their own ability and hence are more likely to have depression. Besides, such employees tend to have lesser creativity and barely produce good ideas for the company. What is more, resisting change often creates conflicts in the workplace. For example, disagreement over need of change of a certain software would lead to a big argument which will delay the whole project. The obvious solution for such issues would be to educate employees to understand the purpose of change. If necessary, cost and benefit analysis would be performed.

Problems of resisting change occur outside workplaces too. It is one of the reasons that stops young people from grabbing great opportunities. For instance, many students refuse to study oversea because they are scared that they will not be able to adapt the new environment in a different country. As a result, they lost the chance to improve their living standard. A possible solution is for the parents to give their child clear idea on how the change will brighten up his or her future so that the child knows exactly what the benefits are.

In conclusion, I believe that change is essential to improve our humanity as a whole. If we encourage ourselves not to be afraid of facing the unstable transient after the change, we will find that it is worth to take a chance when things settle down.