The resistance to change is a striking human's instinctive trait [IELTS TASK 2]

People naturally resist making changes in their lives. What kind of problems can this cause? What solutions can you suggest?

reluctance to change

It is not uncommon that resistance to change is a striking human's instinctive trait. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences, some steps can be taken to mitigate these potential problems.

Being reluctant to change can decelerate human evolution and civilization. If early human races' inner fears of the unknown were far greater than an eagerness to find new homes, they wound be content with their status quo and and the turning point in human evolution was unlikely to take place. From individual perspective, resistance to change is the biggest obstacle preventing excellence. For example, employees may not bring out the best in them since the dread of failure outweighs the rewards, leading to a monotonous world where people are afraid to be different. This means either world famous inventors or advanced gadgets would not exist while outbreak of epidemics would threaten existence of human beings.

However, there are several actions can be taken to solve the problems described above. Firstly, organizations should promote a culture where changes are encouraged. By being tolerate to losses and rewarding innovation, uncertainties will be replaced by excellence and other scientific breakthroughs. In addition, competition should be held both locally and internationally to fuel major successes in all areas. By taking part in a contest, contestants have to present and defend their most compelling ideas in order to achieve highest prize. Kickstarter and other crowdfunding platforms have proved their efficiency in inspiring and empower young people to make changes for the better. An increasing number of ideas turning into real-life commodities, in fact, shows a brighter outlook for the future of human kind.

In conclusion, while struggling to change hinders evolution of human being to individual level, a transparent and supporting culture may eliminate the risks involved in change process, thereby boost revolution in every domain of life.