IELTS: Who should be responsible for cars pollution - people or governments? Give your opinion.

People should be responsible for the pollution problems caused by transportation, while others think the government should be held accountable. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, pollution to the environment is increasing at alarming rate throughout the world and there is number of serious factors affecting to this cause. One of the main factors to contribute the air pollution is the transportation. Some people argue that individuals should have responsibility for pollutions caused by their cars, while others hold a different opinion saying the government should handle this issue. However, ignoring the individual's responsibility for air pollution is not correct, I think government should introduce regulations to reduce the pollution from vehicles.

As some people say, the pollution from cars could be reduced by giving responsibility to the owner. In order to reduce the air pollution, people should not use the cars which omit much pollution to the air comparing to other environment friendly transportation types. If people feel their responsibility to keep the environment clean and safe, they would not prefer to use the cars. Unfortunately, most people do not care about the impacts from cars to the environment, therefore, some people consider that governments should take this into a considerable account.

To reduce the air pollution from vehicles, governments should introduce some major steps to reduce cars which omit high pollution to the air. One of the steps to reduce air pollution from cars is to decrease the numbers of cars people use. In order to achieve to this goal, government should encourage people to use an environment friendly transportation types. Also, governments should require car owners to pay tax for their responsibility to the air pollution. In some countries, for example in my country, this regulation is started being used in practice.

In conclusion, air pollution becomes a danger for everyone. Therefore, to reduce the air pollution related to human activity, such as pollution from transportation, governments should take some important steps such as collecting tax from cars and promoting people to use environment friendly transportation.