Ielts task 2: Who is responsible for helping to poorer nations.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and with relevant evidence.

Answer:

My grandmother always used to say "happiness is real, when it is shared". Indeed, in the modern world, there are a vast amount of poor and rich countries. Who is responsible to help poorer nations? Some people claim that it is a duty of everyone, whereas others believe that only the governments of developing nations are responsible for such action. Personally, I completely agree with the words of my grandmother and believe that the duty of wealthy nations is to help to poorer ones.

First and foremost, one must note that no country was poor from the get-go. In this sense, one of the principal reasons why some countries are poorer is that the resources of these nations were taken by force. For example, the United Kingdom is so wealthy country, because in earlier times it conquered a lot of nations and used the resources of others for nothing. As a result, the UK has become so rich by making others poorer. So, some countries must pay back their debts and provide them with food and education.

Secondly, one must admit that the Earth provides enough resources for every man, woman and child to live comfortably. However, there are some people in power that choose to hoard it all. As a result, 50% of all wealth of the Earth belongs to 20% of people. From my point of view, the wealth of the world must be allotted in a proper way. Even from the point of humanity, man's duty is to help to each other.

In conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the governments of rich nations must be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education.