Restraint in the use of Power impresses people most

"Of all the manifestations of power, restraint in the use of that power impresses people most"

Explain what you think this quotation means and discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with it.

There is nothing extra-ordinary to exercise the power by its beholder but to control the use of that power and yet prove one's capability is remarkable. People feel awe when the powerful entities use their power judiciously in the interest of whole nation and its mankind. The same thing influence me as well and so I support the assertion made in quotation that the restraint in the use of power impresses people most.

There are umpteen examples that construe how the decision to discard the use of power pacified blazing conflicts between two powerful parties and restored the peace. One of the events from history that can best be cited is the Cuban Missile Crisis which was the closest the world ever came to nuclear war. But thanks to President John F. Kennedy who opt for peaceful negotiation and agreed to remove U.S. missiles from Turkey in exchange for Soviet Missiles from Cuba. This was the boon that saved the entire world from great world war. At this time, if President John F. Kennedy had decided to resort to use of nuclear power then the world would have devastated. Still today, people reminiscence President John F. Kennedy with honor and respect because of his modest use of power.

The above example also shows that there is no need to flaunt one's power by it's rash use. People revere those who embrace the authority with it's ensued responsibility and thus, exert their power under constraints. Above all, what people detest the most is the arbitrary use of that power. Here, the excerpt from a movie titled "Schindler's List" that is grounded on real life of German businessman, Oskar Schindler, elucidates how powerful person can touch the heart of crowds of people by prudent use of that power. The character of the movie named Amon Goeth was the German Army Official who exploited his power and arbitrarily kill Polish Jewish. People suffered from his tyrannical and brutal behavior. However, Schindler, despite being German, never abused his power rather he saved the lives of more than thousands of Polish Jewish during the holocaust by employing them in his factories. Thus, Schindler is elevated in the eyes of Jewish.

In present context, Delhi city of India is said to be the place for powerful person only. Traffic congestion and road accidents are very high in this city due to ineffective traffic rules. The traffic rules are made ineffective by those so called powerful people. These people and their kids flaunt their power and break traffic rules frequently. Corruption is reached to peak due to hype of power. These are not what people applauds. The people desire the welfare of the country which is not possible through excessive exploitation of power. That will only lead to indiscipline, injustice and irresponsible behavior.

Hence, the simplicity and humility of powerful person is commendable that is appreciated by the people. Of course, the nation should be powerful enough to defend but yet it only need to make aware of possession of its power to prevent from possible threats of attack. The humbleness and modesty is appealing not only to peers but also to opponents. So, it is obvious that people are inspired more by decorum of powerful persons than by their ostentatious behavior.