As a result of sport's popularity, the young generation tend to admire famous athletes

Question: Do you believe that professional athletes make good role models for young people? Support your opinion with reasons and examples from your own knowledge or experience.

My essay

In our modern society, Sports are becoming more and more popular. As a result, the young tend to admire famous sports people. I strongly believe that professional athletes who have both successes in their career and excellent morals are good examples for young people.

Firstly, in my opinion, praiseworthy achievements of sports players are significant motivations for the youth to study and work harder. It takes normal players many years to become professional ones. They have to practice strenuously, even living far from their family to focus on training. Besides, successful players possibly overcome many failures by continual efforts. All those things could encourage the young to keep pursuing their passions because it is very easy for young people to follow their idols. For example, shooter Hoang Xuan Vinh is the first Vietnamese winning an Olympic gold medal. Therefore, his achievement motivates a lot of young Vietnamese to study as well as practice harder. Even many kids and teenagers pay more attention to play sports.

Equally important, the good behavior of famous athletes is deserving of young people's imitation. Actually, professional sports players usually have not only reputation but also a lot of money which could make them arrogant or wasteful. However, if they are able to stay always from bad habits to have a moral life, there is no reason why children should not imitate sports people. Apart from that, the habit of watching athletes in sports competitions can help the young learn useful lessons. They are the power of solidarity, fair play which are principles of many sports players.

In conclusion, it is clear that young people usually love to idealize professional sports people. Therefore, the authorities and parents had better encourage children to imitate good sports players.