WT2-RETIREMENT AGE. SHOULD OR SHOULD NOT?

Q: Some people believe working adults should be required to retire at a certain age, while others say people should be able to work as long as they want to.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

A:

There has been an argument with regards to the age that working adults should retire. While some believe people should work as long as they wish to, I think the government should set a specific retirement age for working adults.

There are 2 main reasons why some people support no certain retired age. Firstly, since workers think they are still capable of contributing to the job, there is no obstacle to curb them from keeping doing what they love. For example, if a seventy-year-old man is still in good health condition and has a passion for work, he can even work more effectively due to his vast experiences in his field. Secondly, by rescinding the retired age in policy, disadvantaged persons can have more time to work and prevent not to plunge into financial crisis. In fact, in a poor family with many children, parents need to work longer and harder in order to raise their kids until they can become an independent person.

Besides, there are more compelling reasons to require working adults to retire at a certain age. One of the reasons is, by requiring people to retire at the same age, either a rich person or poor person, to achieve equality and a balance in society. For instance, if we all have retirement at 60 without counting other factors, such as illness or disability, no one would ever bemoan about privileges that any group of people has to retire sooner and contribute less. The second reason is to help people prepare their life after retirement better. The worker knows exactly when they will be off from work and can plan to enjoy the rest of their life by traveling, for example.

In conclusion, despite a debate in terms of the age of retirement, I support the government to set a particular age for working adults to be free from work and have a better time to enjoy the rest of their life.