IELTS 2 - Retirement homes or Living with families? Which way is better for the elderly?

In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their aging members. Do you agree?

Over the recent years, our attitudes toward elderly people have considerably changed. No one can deny the fact that a majority of old-age people are now residing in nursing homes. In my opinion, senior people should not be abandoned by their families at their old age. They will be in desperate need of emotional support more than any other period in life when they are old.

To begin with, it is the loneliness that elders suffer more than any other physical ailment during their old age; hence, it is essential that families should take care of the elders. In fact, having elderly people at home brings a lot of beneficial effects to the children. Children would be delighted to listen to historical events and stories from their grandparents. In addition, elders are the source of experience and they would be able to guide us when we stumble upon any issues. In fact, grannytheraphy often plays crucial role and still competes with highly sophisticated medical technologies.

India, the country where we live in, is bound by moral values and social responsibilities. Looking after elderly people has been part of our cultural system; therefore, it cannot be ignored. Furthermore, nursing homes may offer professional service to old age people but it cannot provide an environment of love and an unpaid care. Some people may contend that retirement villages are capable to aid elder people in the fast-moving world, but I believe it cannot give the hope and necessity to live.

In conclusion, we should not ignore the elders when they get aged. It is not only our moral responsibility but we are implying our children to take care of us when we get old.

I have rewritten the essay after reading others and would like to have your opinion.