Gre essay review Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievement

Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author's claim and reason of surest indicator is very much narrowed down. Development of any nation is achieved by development in welfare of the people, at the same time it is necessary that scientist and artists are encouraged. Alone technological development will not help nation to become a developed country, its important that ruler of the country take people of the nation seriously

China is one of the developing nations which has significantly developed its use of technology. Practically every electronic goods we buy are China made. Certainly, this success has to be attributed to its ruler and scientist who have made China so technologically developed. But what about the citizen of China? China might be well developed in technology but the citizen on China are under authoritarian rule. A good example of this would be the press who were controlled by the ruler which lead to protest against its own government. In this case, even if a nation is fully developed to become a great nation, welfare of the citizen is very important.

On the other hand, development and innovation in science and arts it necessary for any nation to grow. Scientist provide the nation with its defense system, raises the standard of living and largely contribute to development of the nation. Germany, post world war II was completely destroyed but today it is one of the most developed nation. This development would not have been possible without its Scientist and engineers. A nation is defined by it culture, artists promotes and preserves them. Various cultural event are preserved by artist in various forms of arts like painting, dance, singing. All these cultural heritage would have been lost if it were not for great artists.

Its unfair to say that surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievement of its rulers, artist or scientists as development of nation depends upon them. All the defense systems, technologies, cultural activities are for the nation's citizen. To make utopian nation it is necessary that people are happy and satisfied. Development alone won't help, citizens freedom and well being is important. I agree with the claim, people welfare should be governments first priority over individual achievements.

How do i make this essay look better. I also confused how to conclude essay, i waste most of my time in intro and conclusion.