IELTS ESSAY: REWARD STUDENTS WHO SHOW THE BEST RESULTS OR THOSE WHO SHOW IMPROVEMENTS

Task 2: Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

good progress at schools should be praised

It is true that some people argue schools should recompense students for their great attainments. While others consider it is more significant to reward children performing well in their progress. In my opinion, it would be better if schools appreciate students getting the highest scores.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why rewarding students who endeavor to study and make good improvements is essential. Firstly, when others recognize their efforts, children may want to study harder and achieve higher results. If their attempts are ignored, they may feel disappointed. As a result, they may easily give up their progress. Secondly, receiving awards also makes students happier, which allows them to have a good grasp of any lessons at school. For example, children with happiness are more energetic and enthusiastic, so they can pay more attention to teacher's lectures

On the other hand, I believe only toppers should be praised. Obviously, it will be not fair to toppers if students who getting lower results are also acclaimed. Children at the highest position always have to exert themselves to obtain the best results, so they are only persons deserving to be congratulated. Furthermore, they will reduce their motivation if they're not rewarded. Everyone, especially children, wants to be celebrated as succeeding. If not, it will lead to their depression.

In conclusion, both students who get the best scores and those who make good progress should be praised. However, it seems to me that only children showing the best performance should be rewarded by schools.