"Riding a motorcycle in Vietnam" - Risk you have taken, why and was it worth it?

Hi people!

Please help me with my practice CBEST writing, I have been failed the test for over 30 times. I started to take the test since 2003. Please save my life. Thank you so much

Topic: Everyone has taken a risk at some time in his or her life. Write about a risk you have taken. Discuss why you took this risk and whether it was worth taking.

My response

Some people are eager taking risks on their life, feeling great for overcoming with the obstacles. Others deny taking risk for their own safes. As for me, riding a motorcycle in Vietnam without a permit was my tremendous risk.

I remember last summer I took a vacation trip to Vietnam for visiting my grandmother's hometown. Motorcycles and bicycles were the mainly transportation in Vietnam. Unfortunately, international driving permits and the U.S drivers' licenses were not valid in Vietnam; nevertheless, the processing for applying a driving permit was complicated, so I decided to rent a motorcycle for my transportation without the permit during my staying.

Riding a motorcycle in Vietnam was extremely dangerous. The traffic was chaotic. There were poor road conditions with uneven pavement. I was almost making an accident when I bumped into a big hole on the road. I didn't even see any speed limit or yield signs on the way. In addition, motorbike riders and pedestrians didn't obey traffic's rules. The traffic moved on the right, but drivers frequently crossed to the left to pass other vehicles and pedestrians who crossed the road illegally. Paying attention and concentrating were very much to do for my riding. It was highly anxious when I had to prepare to break frequently because other drivers sudden stop anytime.

Consequently, everything that I had done was a risk and it wasn't worth taking. Yet, the possible outcome could be harmful to my safety. I might end up my life in a motorcycle accident or I might kill a pedestrian with my inexperience driving.