It is right that university graduates should earn more money than less well educated people

It is right that university graduates should earn more money than less well educated people, but they should pay the full cost of their education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When university graduates enter the job market, they expect to be paid more money on average than less educated people. While I believe that graduates deserve good salaries, I disagree with the idea that they should pay the full tuition for their degree courses.

In my opinion, the level of education is the most important contributing factor to the amount of money people earn at work. Educated people have invested time and effort into gaining their qualifications, and are therefore more prepared for work that relies chiefly on knowledge. More importantly, university students develop qualities that will go beyond their specialized knowledge. For example, better educated people are mentally and physically healthier, and they tend to be more productive with better interpersonal skills than those without formal education, making them great assets to the society as whole. I believe that these qualifications will certainly benefit the prospective employers both inside and outside work context.

I would also argue that students should not pay all the cost of university education. Education will be expensive and many young people, especially those from poorer backgrounds, might find it more difficult to go to university if they have to pay. I doubt that student loans could help to overcome this problem, because many students might not like the idea of graduating and having to worry about repaying large loans. Graduates clearly directly receive many benefits form having a university education, higher income being one of them. This means that they will almost certainly pay more income taxes than non-graduates, contributing more to the education of the next generation.

In conclusion, I believe that government should lower the cost of education for all people, and that graduates deserve higher rates of remuneration.