The road through your imagination, invention and searching for problems solutions, to the science.

How to teach kids to love science

This essay is a summary of a video from tedtalk.com by Cesar Harada. The original tittles is "how I teach kids to love science". Caesar Harada is a teacher from Invention of the Hongkong Harbor School. Based on his teaching experiences, he taught children to enjoy about science by their experience. There are three steps to prepare children who care about environment and people's problem, and they can solve the problem. The first step is investigating the local problem. For example, firstly he brought his students to investigate the local problems and collected data about plastics in the sea and real fact in ocean problem. Secondly, he taught his children into workshop. The third, he absolved students imaginations how to solve the problem and he collect all students imaginations be one idea. The fourth, he invited students to make a robot and coached his student to make prototype. The result is every children very enjoyable and he launched a robot to decrease plastics in the ocean.

The second is developing student empathy to other and investigate the remove problem, for example in water pollution in Bangladesh. The result is they found spectrometer to solve the problem. The third is investigating global problem in Fukushima, Japan about radioactivity. They establish the map of radioactivity, and very useful for fisherman and local inhabitants safety. In conclusion, teaching student to love the science is let them with their imagination, make invention and make solution to solve the problem.